Silvia Neid names German Squad to play Russia and Turkey

Mandy Islacker and Lina Magull stand for the first time in the squad of the national women’s team. Germany coach Silvia Neid called the attacker from 1. FFC Frankfurt and the midfielder from SC Freiburg for the two European Championship qualifiers on 22nd October against Russia in Wiesbaden (from 16 clock, live on ZDF) and on 25th October against Turkey in Sandhausen (from 14.15 clock, live on ARD).

Silvia Neid said: “They are both made a positive impression in the Bundesliga, have developed well and now the chance to show us.” Magull led the U-20 Women 2014 captain the title at the World Championships in Canada. While Wolfsburgerin Alexandra Popp does not count in the squad due to a muscle injury in the calf, Babett Peter returns to overcome an adductor problem back into the team.

Envy: “Russia’s strongest opponents of our group”

After the two victories at the start of the European Championship qualifiers against Hungary and Croatia, the DFB want to book the next points on the way to the European Championships in the Netherlands 2017th Neid explained: “Russia we regard as the strongest opponents in our group, especially on the goalkeeper position they have in Elvira Todua an outstanding player Basically I expect from my team always that retrieves them 100 percent of their performance is what we want against the.. Turkey. ”

Apart from Germany, Russia and Turkey are in the European Championship qualifying Group 5 currently Croatia and Hungary. The eight group winners and six best runners-up qualify directly for the final round in 2017, the other two runners dispute between the 17th and 25th October 2016, the play-offs.



Laura Benkarth – SC Freiburg

Almuth Schult – VfL Wolfsburg

Lisa Weiß – SGS Essen



Saskia Bartusiak – 1. FFC Frankfurt

Kristin Demann – 1899 Hoffenheim

Tabea Kemme – 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam

Annike Krahn – Bayer 04 Leverkusen

Leonie Maier – Bayern München

Babett Peter – VfL Wolfsburg

Bianca Schmidt – 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam



Melanie Behringer – Bayern München

Anna Blässe – VfL Wolfsburg

Sara Däbritz – Bayern München

Lena Goeßling – VfL Wolfsburg

Simone Laudehr – 1. FFC Frankfurt

Melanie Leupolz – Bayern München

Lina Magull – SC Freiburg



Pauline Bremer – Olympique Lyon

Mandy Islacker – 1. FFC Frankfurt

Anja Mittag – Paris Saint-Germain

Lena Petermann – SC Freiburg


Source courtesy of:


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?