Stephanie Roche makes the top three for Fifa's Puskás Award

Stephanie Roche makes the top three for Fifa’s Puskás Award

The final three nominees for the Puskás Award (FIFA’s Goal of the Year) are named as Stephanie Roche, James Rodriguez and Robin van Persie.

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team striker Stephanie Roche was nominated for the Puskás Award for FIFA’s best goal of the year and has made it to the final three!

Stephanie Roche’s goal for Peamount United on October 20, 2013, in the Women’s National League against Wexford Youths Women’s AFC is one of ten shortlisted for the global award. At the time the goal became an internet sensation attracting over 2.5million views on You Tube as it went viral around the world.

Stephanie becomes the first woman short-listed for the FIFA Puskas Award.


  1. Gina West 7 years ago

    Very true Izzy. It is so good to see how much support Stephanie’s goal has received on a global scale and I would love to see her pick up the award.

  2. Izzy 7 years ago

    Well deserved nomination!!! I would like to ask all WSU members to vote on her goal, if you haven’t voted yet. Not only because she represents women’s soccer, but mainly because it was the most beautiful and spectacular goal of the year!

  3. Gina West 7 years ago

    Huge congratulations to Stephanie for making history by becoming the first woman to be short-listed for the FIFA Goal of the Year award. Not only is this a fantastic individual achievement, this will also highlight the women’s game to a HUGE audience.

    Lets hope everyone continues to vote and Stephanie can win!

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?