Stephanie Roche

Stephanie Roche nominated for FIFA’s Goal of the Year

Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team striker Stephanie Roche has been nominated for the Puskás Award for FIFA’s best goal of the year.

Her goal for Peamount United on October 20, 2013, in the Women’s National League against Wexford Youths Women’s AFC is one of ten shortlisted for the global award. At the time the goal became an internet sensation attracting over 2.5million views on You Tube as it went viral around the world.

The winner of the FIFA Goal of the Year will be decided by a worldwide internet poll with votes being cast on and On December 1, the three goals with the most votes will be short-listed and a new poll will commence with the winner of the Puskás Award being revealed on the day of the FIFA Ballon d’Or on January 12, 2015. Voting will close during the show.

Roche said she is honoured to have been chosen in the top ten.

“I am absolutely delighted to have been nominated for FIFA’s best goal of the year. Obviously, it was a big surprise but it is a great boost, not only for myself, but for women’s football and particularly the Women’s National League. It’s a great feeling to see myself on the list,” said Roche who now plays in France for ASPTT Albi and is the only women on the list.

Fran Gavin, FAI Competitions Director, said: “At the time the goal helped raised the profile of women’s football in Ireland and this nomination for the FIFA Goal of the Year represents another major achievement for the Continental Tyres Women’s National League.”

The ten goals are (in alphabetical order of the scorer’s names):

Tim Cahill – 18 June 2014, Australia v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™
Diego Costa – 23 November 2013, Atlético Madrid v. Getafe, Primera División (Spain)
Marco Fabian – 15 February 2014, Cruz Azul v. Puebla, 1a División 2014 Clausura (Mexico)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic – 19 October 2013, Paris St. Germain v. SC Bastia, Ligue 1 (France)
Pajtim Kasami – 21 October 2013, Crystal Palace v. Fulham, Premier League (England)
Stephanie Roche –20 October 2013, Peamount United v. Wexford Youths, BEWNL (Rep.Ireland)
James Rodriguez – 28 June 2014 – Colombia v. Uruguay, 2014 FIFA World Cup™
Camilo Sanvezzo – 6 October 2013 – Vancouver Whitecaps v. Portland Timbers, MLS (USA/Canada)
Hisato Sato – 8 March 2014 – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v. Kawasaki Frontale, J.League (Japan)
Robin van Persie – 13 June 2014 – Spain v. Netherlands, 2014 FIFA World Cup™

To view the goals and vote for Stephanie Roche please click here

The FIFA Puskás Award, created in honour and in memory of Ferenc Puskás, the captain and star of the Hungarian national team during the 1950s, will be presented for the sixth year in a row at the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014, which will be held at the Kongresshaus in Zurich.

During a televised show, the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player of 2014 as well as the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2014 will also be revealed. Meanwhile, the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Men’s Football award and the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women’s Football award will be presented for the fifth time. The FIFA FIFPro World XI, the FIFA Presidential Award and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the show.


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?