England FA

The FA confirm clubs in 2018/19 Women’s Super League and Women’s Championship.

The English Football Association has today announced the clubs who will participate in The FA Women’s Super League [Tier 1] and The FA Women’s Championship [Tier 2] for the 2018-19 season.

The FA Women’s Football Board made the decision in respect of which clubs were successful following a review of al the 15 applications which were received.

The application process requires all clubs to sign a licence with The FA and the offers remain conditional from the Board until it is received.

The 11 FA Women’s Super League 2018-19 season clubs are:

• Arsenal
• Birmingham City Ladies
• Brighton & Hove Albion Women
• Bristol City Women
• Chelsea FC Women
• Everton Ladies FC
• Liverpool Ladies FC
• Manchester City Women
• Reading FC Women
• Yeovil Town Ladies
• West Ham United Ladies*

The 12 FA Women’s Championship 2018-2019 season clubs are:

• Aston Villa Ladies FC
• Doncaster Rovers Belles
• Durham Women FC
• London Bees
• Millwall Lionesses
• Sheffield FC Ladies
• Tottenham Hotspur Ladies
• Charlton Athletic Women**
• Leicester City Women*
• Lewes FC Women*
• Manchester United Women*
• Sheffield United Ladies*

*Approved within the open application phase
**Winners of The FA Women’s Premier League Championship Play-Off

On The FA’s website, Baroness Sue Campbell, The FA’s head of women’s football said: “Today’s announcement is the result of two years of planning and a milestone within our delivery of The Gameplan for Growth strategy.

“The revised competition structure will positively impact on the delivery of the women’s game across all levels, both on and off the pitch.

“Such is the strength of women’s football in this country, there have been some difficult decisions to make but they’ve been made with the sport’s best interests at heart.

“This is a hugely exciting time for the game and I am hopeful that we will look back upon this as one of the most significant decisions made in its history.”

The FA Women’s Super League and The FA Women’s Championship league fixtures commence on the weekend of the 8 & 9 September.


Leave a reply

©2018 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved. | Powered by UnitedHosting, dependable, cost-effective hosting.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?