The Football Association of Ireland today announced a new National Women’s League.

The league, containing seven clubs, will be officially launched in October, with a start date set for November.

Following a presentation on July 12, seven clubs were invited to compete in the league. Successful clubs have been notified today, and will be met on an individual basis to discuss certain areas around their participation in the League which include marketing, licensing and administration.

The seven clubs who will compete in the league are: Bray Wanderers/ St Josephs, Castlebar Celtic FC, Cork Women’s FC, Peamount United, Raheny United, Shamrock Rovers, and Wexford Youths Women’s AFC.

Speaking today (Weds), Women’s senior team head coach Sue Ronan said, “This is a very exciting time for women’s football in Ireland. The new National Women’s League will continue to nurture and develop the women’s game at domestic and international level.

“This new National League will be a cornerstone in the future success of our game.”



  1. Women's Soccer United 10 years ago

    England Subs: F.Williams & T.Duggan replaces Yankey and Aluko

  2. Women's Soccer United 11 years ago

    This is great news :):)

Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?