The Football Association of Singapore announce two division women’s structure

The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) is pleased to announce that due to increasing interest and participation in women’s football, the Women’s Premier League will be reorganised to form a two-division structure from 2017. The 2017 Women’s Premier League (WPL) will thus consist of the teams that finished in the top six positions of this year’s WPL, while the new Women’s National League (WNL) will be made up of the teams that finished in the 7th-11th positions, along with any new teams.
Ms Fazilah A Latiff, Manager and Soccer Interest Group Advisor, Republic Polytechnic said: “We are delighted with the good work done by FAS over the past two years to develop women’s football in Singapore, and we are pleased to have the opportunities to participate in the women’s tournaments and other key events. Through our active participation in these events, our players have strengthened both in terms of quality and quantity.
“The popularity of women’s football in Singapore has increased and with the introduction of a new two-division system, more players will be able to play competitively, giving them a platform to advance their abilities. This will help nurture new talent and drive further growth and interest in the sport. Going forward, we hope more partners will come forward and support women’s football through various ways.”
The champions of WNL 2017 will be promoted to WPL 2018, while the last placed team of WPL 2017 will be relegated to WNL 2018. The second-last placed team of the WPL 2017 will play against the first runners-up of WNL 2017 in a playoff. The winner of the playoff will be promoted to WPL 2018.

The format of the two other women’s competitions – the Women’s Challenge Cup and the Women’s Youth League – remains unchanged. The exact number of teams in the WPL and WNL respectively is subject to change, depending on the number of teams registering.

Registration for all four tournaments is now open and will close on Monday, 9 January 2017. Participation fees for local teams will be waived, while expatriate teams will have to pay a sum of S$321 per tournament.

Teams interested in participating in the 2017 tournaments should write in to Expatriate teams have to make payment in person at the Football Association of Singapore, 100 Tyrwhitt Road, Jalan Besar Stadium, Singapore 207542 by 9 January 2017.

Source courtesy of:

Congratulations to the Football Association of Singapore who see that a single league is not good enough and the need to have Promotion and Relegations is the way forward for Women’s Football and will allow far greater participation in the women’s game.



Leave a reply

©2020 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?