The Inaugural Mexican Liga MX Femenil 2017

The Primera División Femenil de México, know now as the Liga MX Femenil, is the highest division of women’s football in Mexico. It is run by the Mexican Football Federation and is made up by the female representatives of the 16 clubs. The inaugural season is scheduled to commence in July 2017.

In December 2016, during a general assembly meeting with all Liga MX club owners in the new Mexican Football Federation headquarters, Liga MX CEO Enrique Bonilla announced the formation of the new Liga MX Femenil. which comprises of 16 Liga MX clubs. There will not be any foreign players allowed at first, although Mexican-American dual national players will be allowed.

Before the inaugural season the teams took part in a domestic cup called Copa MX Femenil in May 2017. The tournament took place between 3rd May and 6th May 2017 with only 12 of the 16 teams participating due to four not having a team ready. Pachuca won the final 9 – 1 against Club Tijuana.

Liga MX Femenil Teams:

Group 1


Club Tijuana

Cruz Azul

Monarcas Morelia


T.R.De Veracruz


Universidad Nacional


Group 2


Gallos Blancos De Queretaro




Rayados De Monterrey

Santos Laguna

Tigres De La U.A.N.L


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?