Alex Morgan

Jill Ellis names USA squad for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

With 40 days until the USA’s opening match of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup, USA Women’s National Team head coach Jill Ellis has named the 23 players who will travel to France this summer.

The roster will not become official until it is submitted to FIFA on May 24, which is the deadline for all teams to submit their final squads.

USA squad for World Cup 2019


Adrianna Franch* (Portland Thorns FC),
Ashlyn Harris** (Orlando Pride),
Alyssa Naeher** (Chicago Red Stars)


Abby Dahlkemper* (NC Courage),
Tierna Davidson* (Chicago Red Stars),
Crystal Dunn* (NC Courage),
Ali Krieger*** (Orlando Pride),
Kelley O’Hara*** (Utah Royals FC),
Becky Sauerbrunn*** (Utah Royals FC),
Emily Sonnett* (Portland Thorns FC)


Morgan Brian** (Chicago Red Stars),
Julie Ertz** (Chicago Red Stars),
Lindsey Horan* (Portland Thorns FC),
Rose Lavelle* (Washington Spirit),
Allie Long* (Reign FC),
Samantha Mewis* (NC Courage)


Tobin Heath*** (Portland Thorns FC),
Carli Lloyd**** (Sky Blue FC),
Jessica McDonald* (NC Courage),
Alex Morgan*** (Orlando Pride),
Christen Press** (Utah Royals FC),
Mallory Pugh* (Washington Spirit),
Megan Rapinoe*** (Reign FC)

* First Women’s World Cup
** Second Women’s World Cup
*** Third Women’s World Cup
**** Fourth Women’s World Cup

Jill Ellis said: “Selecting a World Cup team is a long process, and I want to thank the players – the ones that made the final team and the ones that didn’t – for all of their hard work over the past two and a half years,” “They all pushed each other in every training session and every game and challenged the coaches to make some tough decisions. These 23 players have been through adversity and success, and it’s a group that has the talent, confidence, experience and desire to help us win the World Cup.”

Forward Carli Lloyd was named to her fourth Women’s World Cup roster, becoming the ninth U.S. Women’s National Team player to be selected for four or more tournaments. Six players were named to their third consecutive World Cup roster in defenders Becky Sauerbrunn, Kelley O’Hara and Ali Krieger and forwards Tobin Heath, Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan. Ellis also named five players who make a second World Cup roster and 11 for whom this will be their first. Ellis selected 12 players who were part of the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup championship squad. The roster averages 80 international caps per player and has a combined total of 94 Women’s World Cup appearances.

The Women’s World Cup roster will make up the squad for the USA’s final three matches before departing for Europe. The Send-Off Series, Presented by Volpi Foods, takes place in May and will start when the USA faces South Africa on Sunday, May 12, at 1:30 p.m. PT at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California. From there, the USA will travel to St. Louis, Missouri for its second match, facing New Zealand on Thursday, May 16, at 7 p.m. CT at Busch Stadium.
The U.S. players will then have their final break before the World Cup and regroup in New Jersey to conclude the Send-Off Series vs. Mexico on Sunday, May 26, at Red Bull Arena in Harrison. The match will kick off at 12 p.m. ET.

The USA is making its eighth appearance in a FIFA Women’s World Cup and is one of seven countries to appear in all eight editions of the tournament. The others are Brazil, Germany, Japan, Nigeria, Norway and Sweden.


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?