South Africa Banyana Banyana

South Africa Women’s National Team (Banyana Banyana) head coach, Vera Pauw has announced her 21-player squad to participate at the CAF African Women’s Championship, which will be held in Namibia from 11 – 25 October 2014.

South Africa are in Group B alongside Cameroon, Algeria and Ghana.

Vera Pauw and the South African Women’s National Team have been preparing hard for the tournament which is also a qualification tournament for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup, with the top three teams qualifying for the finals in Canada.

Vera Pauw selected her 21-player roster from the 31 players who were involved in South Africa’s training camps and international friendlies.

With the exception of goalkeeper, Roxanne Barker, all players selected compete in the Sasol league teams in different provinces.

Vera Pauw commented on the South African Football Association website:
“This is the worst part of my job as head coach, having to release players in such a great group was not an easy task. This was the most difficult moment of my career. The players which have been released from the team have asked to remain and train with the rest of the team, and that for me showed great team spirit. This shows that there is something special about these players, and I hope we will be able to display that in Namibia.”

During South Africa’s preparations for the 2014 African Women’s Championship, Banyana Banyana have won seven of their eight international friendly matches and earned a goalless draw against Zimbabwe.

South Africa (Banyana Banyana) squad for the African Women’s Championship:


Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns Sasol League  – Gauteng
Thokozile Mndaweni Croesus FC Sasol League – Gauteng
Roxanne Barker Por KA Iceland


Noko Matlou Ma-Indies FC Sasol League  – Limpopo
Nothando  Vilakazi Palace Super Falcons Sasol League  – Gauteng
Janine Van Wyk JVW FC Sasol League  – Gauteng
Nomathemba Ntsibande Springs Home Sweepers Sasol League – Gauteng
Simphiwe Dludlu TUKS Ladies FC Sasol League – Gauteng
Lebogang Ramalepe Ma-Indies FC Sasol League – Limpopo
Gloria Thato University of Pretoria Sasol League – Gauteng


Amanda Dlamini University of Johannesburg Sasol League – Gauteng
Sanah Mollo Mamelodi Sundowns FC Sasol League – Gauteng
Leandra Smeda UWC Ladies Sasol League – W Cape
Refiloe Jane VUT Ladies Sasol League – Gauteng
Mamello Makhabane Palace Super Falcons Sasol League – Gauteng
Mpumi Nyandeni JVW FC Sasol League – Gauteng


Shiwe Nongwanya Bloemfontein Celtics Ladies Sasol League  – Free State
Silindile Ngubane Durban Ladies FC Sasol League – KZN
Ode Fulutudilu Spurs FC Sasol League – W Cape
Thembi Kgatlana TUT Sasol League – Gauteng
Portia Modise Croesus FC Sasol League – Gauteng


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?