Best Women’s Player in Europe shortlist

UEFA have revealed the initial shortlist for the 2013/14 UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award.

The players who have been included in the shortlist for the 2013/14 UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award are listed below.

The shortlist was voted for by the coaches of the eight teams that took part in last season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League quarter-finals.

Player shortlist of 11 (rather than ten due to two players being on equal points in tenth place), is:

• Verónica Boquete (Spain, Tyresö FF – now at Portland Thorns FC)
• Nilla Fischer (Sweden, VfL Wolfsburg)
• Lena Goessling (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)
• Nadine Kessler (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)
• Lena Lotzen (Germany, FC Bayern München)
• Marta (Brazil, Tyresö FF)
• Martina Müller (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)
• Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg)
• Christen Press (United States, Tyresö FF – now at Chicago Red Stars)
• Lotta Schelin (Sweden, Olympique Lyonnais)
• Caroline Seger (Sweden, Tyresö FF – now at Paris Saint-Germain)

In the second round, the voting jury for the women’s award will be composed of 12 journalists, each committed to supporting women’s football and selected by ESM. The three final nominees are scheduled to be named on Thursday 14 August 2014.

The same jury will also cast their live votes in Monaco during a special ceremony on the occasion of the UEFA Champions League group stage draw, with the journalists using an electronic system to determine the outright winner from the three candidates.

In total, 20 players received votes in the initial poll (those not in the final shortlist are named below in order of how they finished):

12 –  Ramona Bachmann, Switzerland, FC Rosengaard
13 – Melanie Behringer, Germany, 1. FFC Frankfurt – now at FC Bayern München
14 – Karen Carney, England, Birmingham City LFC
15 – Louisa Necib, France, Olympique Lyonnais
16 – Kim Little, Scotland, Arsenal LFC – now at Seattle Reign FC
17 – Anja Mittag, Germany, FC Rosengaard
18 – Wendie Renard, France, Olympique Lyonnais
19 – Julia Simic, Germany, 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam
20  – Patrizia Panico, Italy, ASD Torres CF

Nadine Angerer was the winner of the inaugural edition of the award in 2013.

What are your views? Leave your comments below


Leave a reply

©2022 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?