From 2017, the Euro Women’s Championship final tournament will be increased to 16 teams and the U-17 finals will be increased to 8 teams.

The decision was made by the UEFA Executive Committee in Venice.

12 teams will compete in the Euro 2013 tournament in Sweden, in 2017 this will be expanded to 17 teams.

The FIFA women’s World Cup  will also be expanding, from 16 to 24 teams for the 2015 tournament in Canada.

This is another great development for women’s football and will make the final tournaments less predictable as there will be more teams competing and as we all know the standard of teams are getting closer.

What are your views? Leave your comments below


Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?