Jill Ellis wins FIFA World Coach of the Year for women’s football 2015.

Jill Ellis was tonight crowned the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2015!

USWNT head coach Jill Ellis beat Mark Sampson (England coach) and Norio Sasaki (Japan coach) to pick up the accolade.

Jill Ellis secured 42.98% of all votes ahead of Norio Sasaki (17.79%) & Mark Sampson (10.68%) via FIFA Media.

Jill Ellis said when accepting the award: “It’s amazing to be part of an amazing football family. This certainly represents a whole lot of people, to our players our captains our staff back in the USA it’s my sincere gratitude to your effort and your belief in this team. To my friends and family, my parents are here tonight, my dad was my first coach it’s a thrill to have him here tonight. To FIFA, our own federation, to Sunil Gulati, thank you for your belief and investment and continued belief in women’s football.”

What are your views? Leave your comments

1 Comment
  1. Gina West 6 years ago

    Congratulations to Jill Ellis! Deserved coach of the year award after bringing home the World Cup in 2015.

Leave a reply

©2021 WOMEN'S SOCCER UNITED. All rights reserved.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?